Skip to main navigation menu Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Acadiensis sails logo with both french and english text. "Journal of the History of the Atlantic Region" above, and "Revue d'Histoire de la région Atlantique" below.

The David Alexander Prize

The David Alexander Prize is awarded annually for the best essay on the history of Atlantic Canada written in a course by an undergraduate student in any university. The amount of the prize is currently set at $500.


  • Entries must be undergraduate essays between 1500 and 5000 words in length on some aspect of the history of Atlantic Canada, written in English or French.
  • They may be research, interpretive, or historiographical efforts.
  • The author must be part-time or full-time undergraduate student in a degree program at an accredited university or college and the essay must have been written to meet the requirement of an undergraduate credit course during the respective academic year.
  • Previous winners of the Prize may not compete.

Submissions: Entries shall be submitted by course instructors by June 30th. No instructor shall submit more than two entries. Essays should not bear the instructor's comments or a grade. Entries may be sent as an electronic copy or a printed copy.

Adjudication: Entries will be judged by a panel of three distinguished historians. The winner will be announced in the autumn of each year. No runners-up or honorary mentions will be designated.

Entries may be submitted by email attachment to, or by post to:

Alexander Prize Committee
c/o Acadiensis
Campus House, University of New Brunswick
PO Box 4400, Fredericton, NB E3B 5A3


  • 1982 Ellen Joyce Hambrook, University of New Brunswick
  • 1983 Geoffrey Budden, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • 1984 Rusty Bittermann, University College of Cape Breton
  • 1985 Rusty Bittermann, University College of Cape Breton
  • 1986 non décerné
  • 1987 Robert Hong, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • 1988 Janice Cook, University of New Brunswick
  • 1989 non décerné
  • 1990 James E.A. Stanley, University of New Brunswick
  • 1991 Phillippe Garvie, Université de Moncton
  • 1992 Michael O'Brien, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • 1993 Paula C. Harris, University of New Brunswick
  • 1994 non décerné
  • 1995 A. Geoff Pearcey, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • 1996 Ellen Thorne, University of New Brunswick
  • 1997 Kurt Peacock, University of New Brunswick
  • 1998 Jennifer Rogers, Dalhousie University
  • 1999 Callum Makkai, Dalhousie University
  • 2000 Liza Piper, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • 2001 Lorna Williams, St. Thomas University
  • 2002 Sharon Weaver, University of New Brunswick
  • 2003 non décerné
  • 2004 Shawna Stairs, University of New Brunswick
  • 2005 Haydn Lloyd, University of Western Ontario
  • 2006 Blake Laven, Dalhousie University
  • 2007 Siobhan Laskey, University of New Brunswick
  • 2008 Fred Burrill, McGill University
  • 2009 Matt Cook, Cape Breton University
  • 2010 Alexandra Montgomery, Dalhousie University
  • 2011 non décerné
  • 2012 Anna A. MacNeil, Cape Breton University
  • 2013 Andrew Harmes, Dalhousie University;
    Matthew Verge, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • 2014 Hillary MacKinlay, Dalhousie University
  • 2015 Joseph Burton, University of New Brunswick
  • 2016 Vincent Auffrey, Université de Moncton
  • 2017 not awarded
  • 2018 Meredith J. Batt, Université de Moncton
  • 2019 James Lees, Dalhousie University
  • 2020 Zacharie Collins, Université de Moncton
  • 2021 Thomas Chassé, Université de Moncton
  • 2022 Dallas Karonhia'no:ron Canady, McGill University