

## BEAVERBROOK HOUSE

## FORMAL OPENING

Legal education and the law profession reached another progressive milestone in New Brunswick when Beaverbrook House, the new home of the University of New Brunswick's Law Faculty, was formally opened by the building's donor, Right Honourable William Maxwell Aitken, First Baron Beaverbrook, on October 16, 1954. This achievement was due to the generosity of that famed son of New Brunswick who was himself a student in the law school in its formative years, and who sees as essential today the need for a sound educational foundation on which to build our juridical system.

The colonial style building, at the corner of Carleton and Coburg streets in Saint John, contains class rooms, offices, a seminar room, and large common rooms, completely and handsomely furnished, in addition to a 9,000 volume library, all of which constitute excellent facilities for the teaching of law. In the words of the University President, Dr. Colin B. MacKay, "The University of New Brunswick has in Saint John truly magnificent quarters for its faculty of law; a building equipped in the manner to make it the envy of all who see it".

Lord Beaverbrook, in dedicating the building, told the distinguished audience that every lawyer should give time and labour to the cause of good government. "Justice", he said, "depends upon the sound administration of public affairs." "It is my hope", he continued, "that the students of this house will be encouraged to take a constant and intense interest in the affairs and concerns of the governments at Fredericton and Ottawa. May this home of learning be dedicated to denouncing any form of intolerance and oppression, and uphold to everyone, equally and alike, the right to enjoy liberty and justice".

President Mackay, in the course of his remarks referred to the significance of Lord Beaverbrook's benefactions to the University and to the people of New Brunswick. He expressed the hope that the Law Faculty would continue to attract "many of the best young minds in the province and beyond"; fittingly, he referred to the increasing number of students entering law from the predominantly Frenchspeaking sections of the province and to the co-mingling of the two cultural groups of the province within the Faculty.

In the distinguished audience were the Honourable Patrick Kerwin, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada; Premier Hugh John Fleming, cabinet ministers, and members of the New Brunswick legislature; the Chief Justice of New Brunswick, the Honourable C. D. Richards; representatives of Maritime universities; men of outstanding achievement in law and industry who later received honorary degrees; representatives of the armed services; and members of the legal profession. Lord Beaverbrook expressed sorrow at the inability of Mr. Justice W. H. Harrison, Dean of the Law Faculty, to be present and paid tribute to the "invaluable leadership that he has given the school".

Following the ceremony, the University's fall convocation was held at the Kent Theatre at which, in addition to degrees in course, eight honorary doctorates were conferred:

## Doctor of Laws:

The Honourable Patrick Kerwin, The Honourable W. J. West, Q.C.,

D. Park Jamieson, Q.C.,

Gordon F. Nicholson, Q.C.,

K. C. Irving,

## Doctor of Civil Law:

Professor Elliott E. Cheatham,

Dean F. C. Cronkite, Q.C.,

Dean George F. Curtis, Q.C.,

Chief Justice of Canada

Attorney General of New Brunswick

President of the Canadian Bar Association

President of the Barristers' Society of New Brunswick

New Brunswick Industrialist

Charles Evans Hughes Professor of Law, Columbia University School of Law

College of Law, University of Saskatchewan

Faculty of Law of the University of British Columbia

The memorable day was concluded with a dinner in honour of Lord Beaverbrook tendered by the Council of the Barristers' Society of New Brunswick.

-Maurice J. Gautreau.

8