REPUBLIC OF CROATIA

The Republic of Croatia is situated in the southeastern Europe, bounded by Slovenia and Hungary on the north, Yugoslavia on the east, Bosnia and Herzegovina on the south, and the Adriatic Sea on the west. The land area is 56,538 km² with a population of 4,760,344 (1991). The capital city is Zagreb which is also the seat of the government. Other important towns are Split, Rijeka, Osijek and Dubrovnik.



FIG. 1.- The Republic of Croatia.

In June 1991, the Republic of Croatia declared its independence, and in 1992 became an internationally recognized state and a member of the United Nations Organization. The Republic of Croatia is a parliamentary democracy based on human rights and social justice. A two-house parliament establish the laws. The present President of Croatia is Dr. Franjo TUDMAN.

Historically, Croatia was an independent kingdom in the 900's and 1000's. Later, until the 12th century, Croatia was a part of the empire: Hungary, Ottoman, France, Austria-Hungary and Italy. In 1918, it became a part of the Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats and Slovenes, later renamed Yugoslavia. In 1946, Yugoslavia became a federal state consisting of six republics, one of which was Croatia.

Croatia is a maritime nation. Its territorial sea extends 12 nm from the baseline to the open sea, occupying a total maritime area of 33,200 km². In the Croatian Adriatic there are 1185 islands, islets and rocks, and over 100 harbours, ports and marinas. The total length of the coastline is 5,835 km, from which 1,777 km are insular, with an indentation coefficient of 11.1%. In 1994 the total merchant tonnage of Croatia was 246,980.



FIG. 2.- Survey Vessel HIDRA.

Major industries include chemical, petroleum, ship-building and textiles. Croatia is also an important producer of cement and steel. The most valuable mineral resources are bauxite and coal. Chief crops are corn, potatoes, soybeans, sugar beets, tobacco and wheat. The major fruits are apples, cherries, grapes, olives, pears and plums.

Tourism has contributed greatly to Croatia's economy. However, the tourism industry in Croatia suffered from the war.

Hydrographic Service

Hydrographic activities in the Adriatic Sea date back to 19th century. From 1806 to 1809 Napoleon's captain, hydrographer Charles BEAUTEMPS-BEAUPRÉ led surveying works in the eastern part of the Adriatic Sea. In 1860, the Hydrographic Office was established in Trieste, while the first Sailing Directions were published in 1830 in Milan, which was a part of Austria at that time.

The Hydrographic Office on the east coast of the Adriatic Sea existed under different names often relocating its headquarters along the coast: Pula (1920),

Tivat (1922), Dubrovnik (1923), Split (1929), Hvar (1943), Vis (1944), Monopoli (1944) and Split (1944). In 1937, the Hydrographic Office was designated the Hydrographic Institute of the Navy, retaining its institutional functions after World War II.

After the recognition of the Republic of Croatia as an independent State, its Parliament established the State Hydrographic Institute following the Administration Act on 10 April 1992. The mandate of the Institute has been laid down as: "State Hydrographic Institute of the Republic of Croatia will carry out scientific research, development and professional works with regard to safety of navigation in the Adriatic, hydrographic-geodetic survey, marine geodesy, design and production of maps and charts, as well as nautical publications and aids, oceanographic research, submarine geology research and finally publishing and printing activities." The Republic of Croatia became the 61st IHO Member State on 23 February 1996.

Professional and scientific work of the Institute is organized in six departments. The Nautical Department organizes and coordinates safety of navigation in the territorial waters and in the international sea, in conformity with the International Conventions. This department distributes daily radio navigational warnings and is responsible for editing periodical publications: Nautical Almanac and Notices to Mariners, as well as nautical handbooks: Sailing Directions, List of Lights, Radio-service, Nautical Tables and Star Finder.

The principal function of the Hydrographic Department is hydrographic survey, which is carried out using either standard methods or integrated hydrographic system, or by a combination of the two. During the hydrographic survey, together with the standard geodetic instruments, sophisticated Differential GPS and echo sounders are used.

The Oceanographic Department includes four laboratories. In the physical oceanography laboratory dynamic processes (tides, wind generated surface waves and currents) as well as thermohaline, hydroacoustics and optical properties of the sea are investigated. Nutrient salts, oxygen, pH factor and heavy metals are measured in the chemical laboratory. Recent submarine sediments and sea bottom features to a depth of 60 m in the earth's crust are analyzed in the marine geology laboratory. The meteorological laboratory deals with the atmosphere-sea interactions. The newly constructed surveying vessel HIDRA is engaged in hydrographic survey and oceanographic measurements in the Adriatic Sea.

Charts and maps design and production, as well as their maintenance are the principal functions of the Cartographic Department. Cartographic work is both computer-assisted and performed by standard methods. This department has produced 101 nautical charts of different scales and formats.

Information system department is responsible for computer network, data processing, software design and data base system. Printing of all charts, maps and publications is finally performed in the Reproduction Department.

The present Director General of the State Hydrographic Institute is Dr. Zvonko GRŽETIĆ who was appointed on 1 May 1992.