Notes from the Editor's Desk

Glen Nichols

It is with great pleasure that I welcome some new additions to the masthead of *Theatre Research in Canada*. First off, Erin Hurley has stepped in as the new Book Review Editor for both English and French books as of January 2010. The journal's review section will be greatly enriched by Erin's expertise, experience, and enthusiasm. If you have suggestions for books that the journal should review, please contact Erin at McGill University.

We also welcome six new names to the Editorial Board to reflect the growing diversity in our field. The new editorial board members are George Belliveau from UBC, Kym Bird from York University, Helen Gilbert from Royal Holloway, University of London, André Loiselle from Carleton University, Gregory Reid from Université de Sherbrooke, and Kim Solga from UWO. Their knowledge and contributions will help keep the journal growing and alert to the dynamics of our discipline from a number of areas.

I also want to signal a very important moment in the life of the journal. After more than 30 years of hard work and selfless contribution, co-founding editor Richard Plant is stepping down from the Editorial Board of *Theatre Research in Canada*. Richard's dedication to our discipline, to this journal, and to his many students over the years is a debt that we all owe to him. Likewise, two other longstanding members of the editorial board, Robert Nunn and Jan Selman, whose contributions to the journal and to our field have benefited us all, are also stepping down after many years with the journal. Our heartfelt thanks go out to all three former editorial board members.

Finally, it also gives me great pleasure to highlight yet another *TRiC* article that has received special recognition. Last May, Kim Solga's article, "The Line, The Crack, and the Possibility of Architecture: Figure, Ground, Feminist Performance" (published in *TRiC* 29.1: Spring 2008) was named the Richard Plant Essay Award winner by the Canadian Association for Theatre Research. Kim joins an impressive line-up of Richard Plant Essay Award-winning *TRiC* authors: Jennifer Drouin (2008), Marlis Schweitzer (2007), Jonathan Rittenhouse (1999), and Robert Nunn (1998); these are in addition to the Jean-Cléo Godin Awards, also given by the CATR, to Francine Chaîné (2002) and Diane Saint-Jacques (1999).