GEOSCIENCE CANADA Volume 38 Number 4 December 2011 181

- 1869: Aspects, v. 45(3), p. 50-55, *in* The Newfoundland Quarterly, v. 102 (4), [www.infonet.st-johns.nf.ca/providers/nfldhist].
- Cuff, R., and Wilton, D., 1993, Jukes' Excursions: Being a revised edition of Joseph Beete Jukes' "Excursions in and about Newfoundland during the years 1839 and 1840": H. Cuff Publications, St. John's, NL.
- Dawson, J.W., 1894, The Canadian Ice Age: Dawson Brothers, Montreal.
- GSC, 1863, Report of Progress from its Commencement to 1863, by Officers of the Survey: Sir William Logan, Alexander Murray, T. Sterry Hunt, E. Billings: Dawson Brothers, Montréal.
- Logan, W.E., 1847, Report of Progress for the years 1845 and 1846, Geological Survey of Canada: Lovell and Gibson, Montréal.
- Pope, J.H., 1971, Illustrated Historical Atlas of the County of Peel, Ontario (Reprint of 1877): Walker and Miles, Port Elgin, ON.
- Queen's College Journal, 1882, v. X(12), p. 156.
- QUA, 1863, Minutes of Senate, p. 116, 2 November 1863.
- QUA, 1864, Minute included in Senate Minutes of April 4, 1864, Queen's College Board of Trustees (entered 28 inst.).
- QUA, 1868, Minutes of Queen's College Board of Trustees, February 9, 1868.
- Smith, C.H., and Dyck, I., 2007, William E. Logan's 1845 Survey of the Upper Ottawa Valley: Mercury Series, History Paper 54, Gatineau, Québec, Canadian Museum of Civilization.
- Zeller, S., 1987, Inventing Canada: Early Victorian Science and the Idea of a Transcontinental Nation: University of Toronto Press, Toronto, ON, p. 237-238.

Received October 2011 Accepted as revised November 2011

## GEOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION OF CANADA (2010-2011)

## **OFFICERS**

President
Stephen Rowins
Vice-President
Peter Bobrowsky
Past President
Stephen Johnston
Secretary-Treasurer
Toby Rivers

## **COUNCILLORS**

Shannon Acton Georges Beaudoin Kathryn Bethune Peter Bobrowsky Keith Dewing Mike Hamilton Jacob Hanley John Hanchar John Hinchey Stephen Johnston Robert Linnen Lee Pigage Toby Rivers Martin Ross Stephen Rowins Victoria Yehl

## STANDING COMMITTEES

Communications: Victoria Yehl Finance: Georges Beaudoin Publications: Robert Linnen Science Program: Mike Hamilton Martin Ross